Sunday, January 10, 2010

In 2002 a graphic designer - now brand consultant friend a mine Jack Dinan of Yap brand consultancy streamlined this image of a drawing I created which was used for my 'boy from beirut' ident.

You can check the 'orgins' that drove the idea and concept for this drawing here in my notebook and sketches archive.

Below you will find a break down of the four EP's created to date along with information on each and tracks for you to listen to.

Hope you enjoy these tracks.

- Richard Hearns (aka. the boy from beirut)

Thursday, December 3, 2009

'a starting breath' was the title given to my first finished EP.
Here we used the original drawing from my notebook for the cover.

The Ep featured Five tracks:

1. binary awakening

2. seven years ago

3 a starting breath

4. dark symbol

5. my minds driven

Each track was written composed and produced at my home in Dublin.
The tracks feature environmental sound, sampled eletronic and instrumental sounds and vocals.

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Another drawing from my notebooks worked really well I felt with the unusual title of my second EP - 'distorted oblate shape'

This EP features eight tracks:

1. spanish eagle

2. symphony 1981

3. a far away place

4. I've been thinking

5. (that's long enough)

6. suprematism

7. origins of matter

8. illogical

Tuesday, December 1, 2009

'face the sunrise', the title given to my third EP features a photo of me taken on a old roof top in Paros, Greece.
Photo by Jack Dinan.

This EP features five tracks which comprise of a large amount of vocal and instumental samples.
Track titles are as follows:

1. bend the shade

2. face the sunrise

3. somedays

4. the whistler

5. days merge into night

Sunday, May 3, 2009

'Hi* Res_Basic' was the title given to my last finished EP during this musically inspired and creative period.

This EP features nine 'heavy' electro/techno tracks.

Am quite pround of the discriptive titles:

1. follow-the-dots

2. Tape based

3. Metal pole

4. Special war

5. Rusty drag

6. Synth

7. cello and bass

8. a missing element

Tuesday, April 14, 2009